The Mane Thing

Leo is my son’s best friend. He is 14 months old, and he has cancer. He is in hospital receiving treatment; chemo. He is going to lose his beautiful hair.

Leo’s family, and the way they are coping, is amazing.  They suffer, yet they have hope. They pray, they are honest, they are humble, they are thoughtful; they trust Jesus. They want, they may need, a miracle. This is a tough time – they are in deep grief.  But they will get through it.

And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose. (Romans 8:28 ESV)

I have started knitting for Leo. The stitches are somewhat warped by my own sadness. I asked my boy to try the first beanie on. He didn’t want to, until I said it was for Leo. Then he didn’t want to take it off.

Every night we hold hands and pray for Leo. My lad doesn’t get it. But then, who does? Only the One we pray to.

 

 

Post Script: When I bought the yarn for this hat, at my local yarn shop ‘Knits, Needles & Wool’, Cathy gave me a discount. I had explained who it was for and she said, “That can be my contribution.”

8 thoughts on “The Mane Thing

  1. Thank you so much Sally. It is beautiful and I know they will appreciate it. Leo is very much missed by a little boy in our household too.

  2. that’s a funky hat, a gorgeous grandson and a heart-tugging story!
    We’ll also pray for Leo, to the one who understands and shares this suffering!
    Long live Leo!!

Leave a Comment

