Nana’s Leek and Potato Soup

I leave a lot of the cooking to my beloved, because he is absolutely brilliant at it. But sometimes I get a bit inspired (or hungry), and I cook.

This has been quite an up-and-down week for me. Soup always cheers me up. And freshly baked bread. I reckon I’d order those two things for my ‘last meal’ if I had to make a choice.

On Wednesday, I pulled out our woebegone recipe folder and dug out a little slip of paper. Written on it is my late grandmother’s recipe for Leek and Potato Soup.

Nana's Recipe

My Toddly Boy and I had been shopping in the morning, and come home with a beautiful organic leek. And I knew we had some Dutch Cream potatoes in the pantry. So my choice was easily made.

haul of fame

Much to my surprise, my (usually soup-averse) eldest daughter really enjoyed hers, and had two helpings. Middle one dutifully emptied her bowl, and Toddly Boy (tired and unwell) threw a complete wobbly about it and refused to eat.  He did, however, eat his allotment of homemade crumpets. He would have eaten a dozen if I had let him.

fresh crumpets

I don’t know what possessed me to cook crumpets to have with soup. But it worked. I think I might do it again sometime.

 

Nana’s Leek and Potato Soup

2 leeks

1 oz. butter

1/2 onion

3 medium potatoes, diced

3 cups chicken stock

 

Slice and cook leeks and onions in butter (do not brown).

Add potatoes and stock.

Cook on stove top until soft.

Blend in batches.

 

I serve mine with lots of pepper. Sometimes some parsley or grated parmesan cheese.

 

You see the photo of the recipe above? I made Nana write Nana on it. I wanted other people to remember her by it as well. She was a brilliant person. I miss her. She was always called Joy by her friends. Some of us grandkids called her Rejoyce, because that’s how she made us feel.

 

6 thoughts on “Nana’s Leek and Potato Soup

  1. oh, that is beautiful post. because I know something about nana love…..and soup….
    mine today was Sweet corn soup….with lots of fresh organic corn, garlic, spring onion and ginger….pure comfort food for the soul, soups are….

  2. My grandma makes potato & leek soup too and it’s my favourite!! I must get the recipe from her! It might be the same as yours! I know when I was little she used to call it potato soup because she thought no one would eat it if she told them there were leeks in it!

    I love that it’s soup weather now. We have a pumpkin that we’re going to turn into pumpkin soup this weekend!

    Thanks for sharing!

    • My pumpkin (seen in the middle photo above) was really just for benchtop decoration. I neglected to tell James about this. He has hacked into it to make mixed vegetable korma. *melodramatic sigh* [Just kidding. It really was for eating. It was just so pretty!]

      James tried to get Toddly Boy to eat his stew last night by telling him the beef was ‘pre-sausage’. Nice try. 🙂

  3. I will try your Nan’s recipe for sure! This is one of my favourite soups anyway but knowing the link will make it more special. Last winter I made crumpets & now can’t abide the store bought ones at all! 😉

    • Homemade crumpets are very different, aren’t they Cat? I have a gluten intolerance. That means that I only tend to eat wheat-based foods when I just can’t resist. Like when James bakes bread, or croissants, or crumpets, or hot-cross-buns…. It needs to be worth the tummy ache!

Leave a Comment

