A Trip Down Chocolate Lane

The first recipe I ever cooked was my Nana’s Chocolate Cake. I was very young, and still frightened of the oven, but my love of chocolate overcame my reticence. Under the patient guidance of my Mum I produced a cake that was really quite lovely.

In publishing this I am aware that I disqualify myself from membership of the rather exclusive One Recipe Wonder Blog Club, but again, my love of chocolate overcomes all obstacles.

 

 

Nanaโ€™s Chocolate Cake

ย 

Ingredients:

2 dessertspoons cocoa

1 cup sugar

3 tablespoons butter/margarine (60g)

ยฝ cup milk

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla essence

1 cup self-raising (white) flour

 

Method:

Melt butter, stir in sifted cocoa and mix.

Add sugar, milk, flour, eggs and vanilla. Beat well.

Pour into greased and lined cake tin (round, 20cm).

Cook in moderate oven (180C) for 35-40 minutes.

Allow to sit in tin for a few minutes, before turning onto wire rack to cool.

When cool, ice with chocolate icing.

 

Icing:

Sift together 8 heaped dessertspoons of icing sugar and

2 heaped dessertspoons of cocoa.

Rub in 1 rounded dessertspoon of butter/margarine.

Add milk or water a little at a time (3 teaspoons to begin with).

Blend to achieve desired consistency.

 

 

So, that’s it. Easy as Chocolate Cake. One of my cousins contacted me this morning to ask if I had this recipe. She’s intending to cook it for a friend. What a great gift.

I’m ‘flu-ridden at the moment. So despite my husband’s birthday being this week, I haven’t done a whole lot of cooking. I’m sure he won’t mind if I cook a cake next week instead. Chocolate Cake is an any-time food, after all; only limited by its availability. And this recipe is so quick and easy, it’s dangerous.

I hope it brings you Joy.

4 thoughts on “A Trip Down Chocolate Lane

  1. We had a gas oven in the house I grew up in, one of those ones where to light it you had to half crawl in and simultaneously hold a lever down and light the element with one of those gas lighter thingies. I don’t remember learning how to do this, so I must’ve been quite young when I did. Wow. My mum was trusting!

    Mmm, chocolate cake.

Leave a Comment

